The Lull

I’m on a break in my schooling. My last quarter (whoo!) doesn’t start until the 10th. I finished the second draft of Devil’s Blood 3 about two weeks ago. I don’t want to start any major projects until I’m done with school – part of my last quarter will be dedicated to a thesis, which I’m using Caroline Eversole and the Gilded Gauntlet for. I want to devote that time to really tightening that story up so by October it’s ready to hit the virtual shelves.

So…what do I do in the meantime? I’ve been working a bit here and there on other projects. I also cleaned out some drawers. I’m not sure why I think I need to keep every receipt and tampon instruction pamphlet. I also played some Minecraft.

It’s so strange not to be working on something, not to have a draft to finish, not to be hammering out plot and character, not to have homework to finish by midnight.

Is this what life is like for normal people? No wonder depression is so rampant. If I did this for weeks on end, months on end, years on end…I’d totally lose my mind. My house would be spotless, but I’d be insane. I need to write – if I don’t write, who am I?

I did stomp out a few rough draft chapters of a new story. I wrote the outline a few weeks ago. The idea’s been rolling around in my head for a while, but I had nothing to go with it, so I left it to linger and fester. Bad ideas fade, but those good ideas, those that spark and interest/obsession, stick with me. Each time I thought about the story, I’d add a little more to it, until I had enough to write down.

It’s like…a rubber band ball. Each rubber band adds, but until you’ve got like ten rubber bands, it’s not a ball – it’s a glob of rubber that could fall apart if you breath too hard.

I’ve also taken this break to add indie titles to my review list. I’ve got a pretty good list going – I think I’ll start in on one of them here soon.

Leave a Reply

